Musings of a Working Indian Mother

“What better way to start this blog than the topic that is closest to me . Notice the three key words in my topic for the day – Working Indian Mother”

Recently, I read Mr. Chetan Bhagat’s article (http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2011-07-16/edit-page/29782152_1_indian-women-stress-levels-powerful-people) on the most stressed women being the Indian women. Well, I agree with the chap and more importantly, relate to it. And I would like to further iterate on it by depicting a typical day in the life of a working woman….

The morning alarm rings (rather the body alarm rings) and I arise. I juggle with the role of being a supervisor to a cook (and in some cases, being the cook myself) listing down the menu for the day (and in which some cases is elaborate, talk about family having to adjust….hmmm). I manage the task while completing my own morning chores and in between, switching to the role of a mother – waking up the brats. urging them to finish their chores, getting dressed and going to school. Somewhere in between all this, I becomes a daughter in law, a PA and a wife – setting reminders for the large demands that the rest of the population in the household. (and mind you, its thankless, salaryless and is called a DUTY)

The morning marathon gives way to my driving through the potholes (in some cases, being driven through the potholes) to my “salaried” workplace. Mind you, I am not just driving but talking to the housemaid on the chores at home, coordinating drops and pick ups for the rest of the household, paying my bills, writing my cheques, speaking to the extended family on their well-being( and to them, I never really has the time, pretend to be busy, have no sense of duty…how very stereotypical)

Work being work, I give my full attention and response to it, I listen, sort out problems, come up with ideas and becomes one of them (men =women) . My expectations are the same and will remain the same (after all, it’s my problem…yawn !)

Next comes my time to go home, I pack, drives through the potholes, while talking to people at work, service men (phone not working, gas delivery to be coordinated, plumber to be called) and reach to become a mommy again. Juggling the mommy role, with the good wife, neighbour and friend, I work on the homework, gets the kids to shuttle between classes, coordinat the birthday parties and dinner parties and finally, end my day….but only to continue it the next day.

And wait, I haven’t finished – the weekend . I still am a mommy, a wifey, a daughter and an in -law  (don’t forgeti the social obligations that we have to fulfill, else you know how many hearts you break ) and all I get in return, is expectations and more. No wonder as Mr. Bhagat points out – we women, are the most stressed and yes, it is time to change that!!!

4 thoughts on “Musings of a Working Indian Mother

  1. Bharat R. Ram says:

    Chetan Bhagat’s article was, I felt, a little condescending to women. This one just tore through the heart of the matter with surgical precision. Well written,hard hitting and real. Bravo!

  2. loonytalks says:

    Well expressed………..but try relating to the lifes of Indian women living abroad and you will feel blessed!……..doing all that you do and more with no maids, cooks or any kind of help in forms of peons, street vendors etc,

    • Ami says:

      Thanks. I do appreciate the lives of the women abroad and would not discount any effort put in by them in their day to-day lives. Of course, the challenges faced by them are different – while you may have no maids( and yeah, half the time in India too, you just have a virtual maid and end up on your own on most days), your work timing are better managed and social obligations are far lesser on a day-to-day basis. All I can say is that Grass definitely seems greener on the other side.

Leave a Reply

